Call for Papers

» Printable pdf version of the call for contribution «


Strategic reasoning is one of the most active research area in multi-agent system domain. The literature in this field is extensive and provides a plethora of logics for modeling strategic ability. Theoretical results are now being used in many exciting domains, including software tools for information system security, robot teams with sophisticated adaptive strategies, and automatic players capable of beating expert human adversary, just to cite a few. All these examples share the challenge of developing novel theories and tools for agent strategies that take into account the likely behavior of adversaries.

The SR international workshop aims to bring together researchers working on different aspects of strategic reasoning in computer science, both from a theoretical and a practical point of view.

List of Topics

The topics covered by the workshop include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Logics for reasoning about strategic abilities;
  • Logics for multi-agent mechanism design, verification, and synthesis;
  • Logical foundations of decision theory for multi-agent systems;
  • Strategic reasoning in formal verification;
  • Automata theory for strategy synthesis;
  • Strategic reasoning under perfect and imperfect information;
  • Applications and tools for cooperative and adversarial reasoning;
  • Robust planning and optimization in multi-agent systems;
  • Risk and uncertainty in multi-agent systems;
  • Quantitative aspects in strategic reasonings.

Co-Located Event

SR 2013 is a satellite workshop of ETAPS 2013, which will be held in Rome, Italy, on March 16th-24th, 2013.

Invited Speakers

  • Krishnendu Chatterjee, IST Austria
  • Alessio R. Lomuscio, Imperial College London
  • Jean-Francois Raskin, Université Libre de Bruxelles
  • Michael Wooldridge, University of Oxford

Contribution Submission

Submitted contributions should not exceed five pages using the EPTCS format. If necessary, the work may be supplemented with a clearly marked appendix, which will be consulted at the discretion of the program committee. Submissions must be in PDF format and will be handled via EasyChair.

Two types of submission are invited:

  • contributions reporting on novel research;
  • expository contributions reporting on published work.

Each submission should be clearly identified as belonging to one category or the other. In both categories, strong preference will be given to contributions whose topic is of interest to an interdisciplinary audience and all contributions should be written so that they are accessible to such an audience.

Novel research abstracts will be held to the usual high standards of novel research publications. In particular, they should

  1. contain enough information to enable the program committee to identify the main contribution of the work,
  2. explain the significance of the work, its novelty, and its practical or theoretical implications, and
  3. include comparisons with and references to relevant literature.

Expository abstracts, which will be held to similarly high standards, may survey an area or report on a more specific previously published work.

Submissions should make clear the relevance to the strategic reasoning audience.

Contributions accepted for presentation (in both categories) will be collected as an EPTCS volume. Submissions from PC members are also allowed. Note that, as we accept short contributions, extended versions of the accepted works could be also submitted elsewhere.

Important Dates

  • November 1st, 2012: Submission opening
  • December 15th December 21st, 2012 (strict): Abstract submission deadline
  • December 20th December 27th, 2012 (strict): Contribution submission deadline
  • January 17th January 23rd, 2013: Acceptance notification
  • January 31st February 4th February 8th, 2013: Camera-ready version deadline
  • March 16th-17th, 2013: SR 2013 workshop


The workshop proceedings will be published by Electronic Proceedings in Theoretical Computer Science (EPTCS).

A special issue of a major international journal to publish an extended and revised version of the best workshop contributions is also under consideration.

Program Co-Chairs

  • Fabio Mogavero, Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II
  • Aniello Murano, Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II
  • Moshe Y. Vardi, Rice University

Program Committee

  • Thomas Ågotnes, University of Bergen
  • Dietmar Berwanger, CNRS de Cachan
  • Valentin Goranko, Technical University of Denmark
  • Joseph Y. Halpern, Cornell University
  • Wojtek Jamroga, University of Luxembourg
  • Orna Kupferman, Hebrew University
  • Nicolas Markey, CNRS de Cachan
  • Fabio Mogavero, Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II
  • Aniello Murano, Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II
  • Ramaswamy Ramanujam, Institute of Mathematical Sciences
  • Wolfgang Thomas, RWTH Aachen
  • Moshe Y. Vardi, Rice University

Organizing Committee

  • Fabio Mogavero, Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II
  • Aniello Murano, Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II
  • Giuseppe Perelli, Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II
  • Loredana Sorrentino, Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II